Join the Webinar: Inequality and Redistribution: Taxes and Transfers on 28 July

Brasília, 20 July, 2016 - In the developing world, the impetus towards expanding social protection over the last 20 years has generated concern over the sustainable financing of these programmes and systems. Though social protection spending in low-income (LICs) and middle-income (MICs) countries has increased over this period, these countries still have space for increasing their expenditure and revenues through taxation. Moreover, international development agencies are putting financing at the centre of the debate.

The growing interest of practitioners and policymakers combined with a context of global economic slowdown has resulted in the need for more evidence-based research and knowledge sharing opportunities in the area of financing social protection. Against this background, the IPC-IG & HelpAge International’s Fiscal Space for Social Protection: Knowledge Sharing Initiative aims to contribute in these efforts towards realising fiscally sustainable social protection systems.

On 28 July, socialprotection.org will present the Webinar Series: Fiscal Space for Social Protection: Knowledge Sharing Initiative, commencing with the first webinar titled “Inequality and Redistribution: Taxes and Transfers”, jointly organized by the IPC-IG and HelpAge International. It will focus on the main challenges faced by fiscal systems in Latin American, and the opportunities for them to tackle poverty and inequality through tax collection and transfers.

The webinar will count on Mr. Michel Hanni, Associate Economica Affairs Officer at the United Nations Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean (ECLAC), as panelist. Mr. Rodrigo Orair, Researcher with the Brazil’s Institute for Applied Economic Research (Ipea), and IPC-IG’s Associate Researcher, will be the discussant.

 

Register for the Webinar here!

Date: 23 June 2016

28 JULY

10:00 - 11:00

(Brasilia time, UTC/GMT -03:00)

9:00 - 10:00 Washington DC (UTC/GMT -04:00)

14:00 - 15:00 London (UTC/GMT +01:00)

16:00 - 17:00 Nairobi (UTC/GMT +03:00)

18:30 - 19:30 New Delhi (UTC/GMT +05:30)

Hosted by socialprotection.org
socialprotection.org is a social protection knowledge sharing platform, supported by the Development Working Group of the G20 and financed by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) German International Development (GIZ). The initiative is designed and hosted by the IPC-IG.
Language: 
English
Date: 
Wednesday, July 20, 2016 - 10:30
Slider: 
no