Presenting the Webinar on Social Protection and the Empowerment of Rural Women in Africa
Photo: UNPhoto/Milton Grant (Kenya)
 
On 23 June, at 10:00 – 11:30 (UTC-4, Washington DC), socialprotection.org will be hosting the second webinar of the Gender and Social Protection Webinar Series, which will address Social Protection and the Empowerment of Rural Women in Africa. The webinar is organized by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) and the IPC-IG, and supported by the UK Department for International Development (DFID). 
 
The webinar will address the following questions:
 
1) What are the pathways to empower women in Sub-Saharan Africa through social protection and other programmes?
2) What is the evidence from impact evaluations and mix-methods of social protection programmes on women’s economic empowerment in SSA?
3) How do we measure women’s empowerment? What are some of the indicators used in impact evaluations of social protection programmes?
4) How can we better link social protection schemes with women’s empowerment schemes?
 
We invite you to register for the webinar here
 

Panellists:

  • Amber Peterman (Social Policy Specialist, UNICEF Office of Research - Innocenti) 

 

  • Markus P. Goldstein (Practice Leader, World Bank Africa Region, Africa) 

Discussant:

  • Leisa Perch (Deputy Representative, UN Women Mozambique)

Moderator:

  • Ana Paula de la O Campos (Strategic Programme Advisor for FAO's program on Rural Poverty Reduction)

 

We also invite you to join the Gender-Sensitive Social Protection Online Community to continue the webinar discussion and learn more about how social protection programmes contribute to gender equality and women’s empowerment. The Community is administered by the IPC-IG and the FAO. You will also be able to stay up-to-date on the Gender-Sensitive Social Protection Webinar Series.

Take this 1 minute Gender-Sensitive Social Protection Survey to ensure The Gender and Social Protection Webinar Series features content you are interested in!

 
 
 
Panellists:
 
Amber Peterman (Social Policy Specialist, UNICEF Office of Research - Innocenti)
 
Amber Peterman, Ph.D. joined UNICEF Office of Research – Innocenti in 2015 and focuses on adolescent wellbeing and safe transitions to adulthood. Amber brings significant experience in large-scale surveys and impact evaluation in Africa, Latin America, the Middle East and Asia. With a background as a quantitative public health researcher, Amber is interested providing policy-relevant evidence related to the intersection between gender, health and human rights. Amber previously worked as an Assistant Professor at UNC Chapel Hill and as a Research Fellow at the International Food Policy Research Institute (IFPRI) in Washington DC., Kampala and Dakar. Amber obtained her PhD in Public Policy with focus on international maternal and child health from UNC Chapel Hill.
 
 
 
 
 
 
Markus P. Goldstein (Practice Leader, World Bank Africa Region, Africa)
 
Markus Goldstein is a development economist with experience working in Sub-Saharan Africa, East Asia, and South Asia. He is currently a Lead Economist in the Office of the Chief Economist for Africa at the World Bank, where he leads the Gender Innovation Lab. His current research centers on issues of gender and economic activity, focusing on agriculture and small scale enterprises. He is currently involved in a number of impact evaluations on these topics across Africa. Markus has taught at the London School of Economics, the University of Ghana, Legon, and Georgetown University. He holds a PhD from the University of California, Berkeley.
 
 

Discussant:

 
 Leisa Perch (Deputy Representative, UN Women Mozambique)
 
Leisa Perch is Deputy Representative, UN Women Mozambique. She is also a Lead Author of the soon-to-be-launched Global Gender and Environment Outlook. A development specialist for more than 16+ years, she has actively worked on gender equality for much of her professional career and more recently has specialized in gender and environment issues. She previously served  as Policy Specialist at the RIO+ Centre, a UNDP Global Policy Centre, specifically supporting the work of the Centre on policies relating to climate change and natural resource management as well as gender equality and coordinated the Centres’ first thematic report on Social Protection for Sustainable Development which is to be launched end July. Prior to that, she set up and led the Rural and Sustainable Development Cluster at the International Policy Centre for Inclusive Growth (IPC-IG), another UNDP Global Policy Centre, in Brasilia. Leisa previously worked with the UNDP Sub-regional Office for Barbados and the Organization of Eastern Caribbean states (OECS), the Organization for American States and the Government of Barbados, contributing to the Barbados Sustainable Development Policy and serving as Technical Coordinator to one of the first regional climate change adaptation initiatives for the Caribbean. She is a Lead Author for Chapter 13 - Livelihoods and Poverty - of the IPCC Working Group II contribution to the Fifth Assessment Report.
 
 
 
 
Date: 23 June 2016
 
Time: 10:00 – 11:30 
(UTC-4, Washington DC) 
Brasilia, Brazil 11:00 – 12:30 (UTC-3)
London, United Kingdom 15:00 – 16:30 (UTC+1)
Paris, France 16:00 – 17:30 (UTC+2)
Nairobi, Kenya 17:00 – 18:30 (UTC+3)
New Delhi, India 19:30 – 21:00 (UTC+5:30)
Bangkok, Thailand 21:00 – 22:30 (UTC+7)
 
 
socialprotection.org is a recently launched social protection knowledge sharing platform, supported by the Development Working Group of the G20 and financed by the Australian Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade (DFAT) German International Development (GIZ). The initiative is designed and hosted by the IPC-IG.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Language: 
English
Date: 
Tuesday, June 21, 2016 - 15:30
Slider: 
no